ICICI has the worst customer service in India : Personal Experience !

14 Mar

How many of you here, who reads my posts have an ICICI account? I don’t! In fact, after a call from a customer service person today, I have resolved never to get an ICICI account no matter what the situation is.

icici-logo

Here is why:

I just completed my 2-wheeler loan amount Emi . ICICI bank was supposed to send me NOC ( No objection papers) . Yet , I kept getting sms messages from ICICI saying  that I still owe then Rs 2280.

Today , I got a call from a guy called Suresh . He is  in the department in charge of sending out NOC papers.

Here is the conversation – verbatim :

Me : Suresh, can you tell me why ICICI is sending me such a sms ?

Suresh : ( in an extremely rude tone) :  you see , that is not my business. I only want to check your address so that I can send in your NOC

Me : but suresh, can you not tell me why.. ( I get cut short)

Suresh : I am telling you that it is  not my department and I am not concerned.

Me : Suresh, I am your customer. You can have the basic courtesy of talking to me in a decent way.

Suresh : I know you are a customer . I am not in charge of the department , and I can’t help.

Me ( I get irritated) : Suresh, basic rule of customer service is to listen to what your customer has to say. I am in a services business industry … ( I get cut short this time)

Suresh  ( he starts reading out my address  without even letting me finish my sentence) : is that where I should mail your noc ?

Me :  yes

did you notice the negatives in the conversation ? “Don’t” , “cant” ?

Now,ICICI claims to be the 2nd largest bank in India. Second only to SBI !

But t if it was really that great in terms of revenue and all that jazz, how come I was treated so bad? How come the customer service ( front end ) guy dint have the basic courtesy of not having the patience to listen to me ? How humiliated did I feel when I was cut short in trying explaining my problem ?

Why should I conduct my business with a bank like this ? Why would anybody want to have any relationship with a bank like this ? Or is this an isolated case ?

I work for a company which has a very long standing with ICICI bank . I am supposed to get ICICI savings account opened next month. That is not going to happen .

I have no intention of having any sort of relationship with ICICI and instead will continue using Axis account and open a new account with any of PSB’s .

If ever a marketing guy of ICICI reads my post , I request him to make sure that  another customer like me should never be treated and humiliated in a similar manner.

I also came across Arjun’s blog ICICI Bank – bad experience for many also , Vijay Padiyar’s blog reflects a similar experience in ICICI Direct Pathetic Customer Service .

It does stop here . A cursry search on the term : icici bad experience , throws out alarming blogs and forums on how bad banking with ICICI is :

Life is Like this

Hindustan Network forum

Bad experience with ICICI bank Credit card – this is from Indian consumer complaints forum

Anita Bora’s blog : Where is the customer service – Trouble with ICICI bank

Arjun Prabu;s blog ICICI bank- Bad experience for many

13 Responses to “ICICI has the worst customer service in India : Personal Experience !”

  1. ICICI Bank Service Team March 16, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    Dear Sir,

    Please write to us at nodalofficer@icicibank.com with your loan account number and contact details. Please use subject line as ” Comments from Site”.

    Sincerely,

    Nazia Sayeed
    Office of Head Service Quality
    ICICI Bank.

  2. Shraddha March 20, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    Vikas, the other day i went to icici bank loan dept to pre close a loan account for my bro… since my bro lives abroad, he sent me a authorization letter…. u wont believe, the bank employees were sooooooooooooooooo nice… they did not question my authenticity… the lady at the counter helped me and guided me through the complete procedure with complete patience…
    The following week i went to HDFC, again to pre close a loan account.. i waited for 1 hour, got abused by the security… and then when i reach the counter, the lady asks me for my id and all sorts of proof… y??? and then she says come back and take the noc in first week of April, whereas ICICI said they will send the NOC home..

    you wont believe for the same work, i faced two different scenarios…

    I wouldnt say ICICI is the best, what i will say is that not all banks are perfect… everyone has their own flaws…

    I would suggest that you complain about the ICICI employee, instead of emailing them, write a letter through Snail Mail.. i am sure you will get a response…

  3. Deepak Agarwal March 28, 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    Please sign this petition if you have taken home loan from ICICI Bank

    ICICI Bank’s Unfair Home Loan Floating Rate Policy http://www.petitiononline.com/bagla27/petition.html

  4. RaiulBaztepo March 29, 2009 at 12:35 am #

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  5. spartanvikas March 30, 2009 at 5:16 am #

    Shraddha,

    I wonder why ICICI dint ask for your authenticity? doesnt it show a sense complacency from their end ? Anyone can just barge in and claim whatever they want in the Bank and get away with it ?

    I accept that each of us have our own experience with their respective banks. While I was mistreated by ICICI , I have warm relationship with HDFC.
    And , ICICI also sent my NOC to my house. HDFC people called and came home directly on the same issue as well.

    I dont think I am going to write a complaint against that guy. What is the point ? What is done is done.. My post should only encourage others to be alert on the same.

  6. Sam April 22, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    Vikas,

    I think you are the only one who hates customer service of ICICI bank when compared to other banks in India. And if one service representative has talked to you in not-so-friendly manner that doesn’t mean ICICI has worst service.

    If you had contacted the right person you would have got the right answers.

    Moreover, this not a Swiss bank or a bank in US that you can expect only positive statements in conversations.

    Go to other banks apart from Axis and just ask some queries. See what replies you get. Reply back if you do it.

  7. stillhere4u November 16, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

    What if we adopt customer service fakeness for how we relate to each other? What is behind the fakeness? I suggest that it is a sickness that our society treats as normal nonetheless. If you are interested, pls see my post on it. http://deligentia.wordpress.com/2009/11/15/corporate-mindset/

  8. Ashok Sundaram March 1, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Hello,
    We are another poor customer of ICICI bank. Company : Nature Neem products , held at ICICI Tiruppur, Tamil Nadu. (CA number 615405051547)

    Let me explain :
    After all our efforts we got export orders from Italy. The buyer has sent the money through the way ICICI has asked us to send money. ICICI boasts that we will receive the money within 3 days. Even after 15 days no once cared about the money. After several efforts we have contacted the local bank. The agent now tells that he has adviced an current account for an export company and we have to open a trade account. the bank indicates that money has arrived and they are ready to credit in our account (as if their money !!). The ICICI agent tells that we could not contact the manager directly (!!!!) what a great service.

    The bank asked us to give a letter that we are engaged in export business – we gave it.
    Next day – they indicate that there is a spelling mistake in the company name. ie the buyer has put all the entires correctly but he has put Nature Neen instead of Nature Neem. – Another delay.
    Then today they asked us to give 100 stamp paper – writing that the buyer has send money for us.

    We have done and as usuall the money has not still arrived.

    And the worst – now the buyer (after waiting 15 days patiently) has cancelled the order and he asks back the money.
    Does ICICI knows how a small company like us struggle to get an foreign order ?. Could you educate their staff, what has to be done in case there is a error.

    This is not the first time we get a probleme with them. Earlier we had an account at HDFC, and we have closed the account and open at ICICI – the blunder.

    We send email corporatecare@icicibank.com, nri@icicibank.com, nodalofficer@icicibank.com – with all the necessary documents as proof – no reply from any of them.

    From the Poor customer of ICICI regretting to open an account with ICICI.

    They then

  9. Ashok Sundaram March 1, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Here is another customer, Nature Neem Product, Tiruppur, who regret to have opened an account with ICICI. Our foreign buyer from Italy has transferred money to us and we are struggling for the past 15 days to get this account.
    If we call by telephone, they say our card number is invalid and reset the PIN quit the call. After several tries contact to customer services is unsuccessful.
    Sending an email to corporatecare@icicibank.com, nri@icicibank.com, nodalofficer@icicibank.com – no email has been replied for the past 4 days. (I have the proof)
    Contacting the local bank – they confirm that money has reached (!!!) some 10 days before and they can’t remit the money to our account for X reasons (as if it’s their money). They asked the invoice, then asked a 100 rupees bond, then they asked a letter this was going like this for the past 15 days and our buyer has lost patience and now he cancelled the order.
    ICICI should realize how small companies like us struggle to take an international order. Now we has lost the order because of the worst services of ICICI. Even today the money is not transferred and we have incurred a loss due to them. The next wise decision I have to take is to close the account with them
    We are frustrated and we can provide the proof for the all that we have explained above. I advice all of you kindly not to open the account with ICICI.
    Ashok Sundaram
    Manager Marketing, Nature Neem products

  10. ICICI Bank Care March 5, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    Dear Ashok,

    We regret the inconvenience caused.
    We’ll contact you and work to address your issue.

    Regards,
    ICICI Customer Service Team.

  11. spartanvikas March 5, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    Dear Ashok,

    Sorry for my late reply here . Was travelling. I am sorry that you had to go through this problem. Trust me , i had 3 such bad encounters with ICICI when i wanted to contact them to invest in mutual funds – tax planning last year. I finally had to open an account with Axis Bank who gave me good and immediate customer service.
    I have no idea why ICICI has to behave like this with their customers. Maybe we are too small in their eyes. I guess all the name they have is through careful PR campaigns where article after article was published through various media channels .

    But i am also happy to see ICICI has replied to your comments here and glad to see their response.

    Pray you prob gets solved now and you get in good terms with your customer from abroad

  12. SWETA April 21, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    THIRD CLASS SERVICE GIVEN BY ICICI DIRECT PEOPLE, WE HAD D ONE A FIX DEPOISIT OF RS 3. 5 LAC AND DURING MATURITY NO 1 WAS DER TO GUIDE US INFACT DEY TALKED SO RUDELY AND STARTED SHOUTING ON US WEN WE ASKED DEM DAT WHY IT IS SO LATE , DEN WE OURSELF FOUND A SOLUTION TO IT. THE EXECUTIVE NAME WAS MS KINJAL AND BRANCH MANAGER IS ALSO USELESS HIS NAME WAS ME VIKAS SHARMA FROM DOMBIVALI BRANCH…PLS STAY AWAY AND CAN ANY 1 PLS HELP TO KNW THE CONTACT NO OF ANY SENOIOR WER WE CAN COMPLAIN ABT AL DIS AND ASK FOR RESIGNATION OF SUCH EXECUTIVE.

  13. SWETA April 21, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    pls help to get A SENIOR NUMBER WER I CAN TELL HIM ALL D DETAILS AN DPROBS FACE BY US..Infact Mr VIKAS SHARMA IS NOT PICKING UP CALLS ALSO PLS HELP ME OUT I REALLY NEED TO COMPLAIN FOR MS KINJAL AND ALSO VIKAS SHARMA…PLS

Leave a Reply

