Mama dont preach !

15 Feb

My mom shouts every time i sit in front of the laptop . She shouts , ” Vikas, you are always sitting in front of your laptop and using the Internet. Why don’t you go out with your friends. why don’t you read some books. You used to have such good reading habits ” 

I cringe when she shouts at me for this. She uses internet only to check stock market info. 

But today i  retorted  , ” Mom, I read everything online . ,Economist,Time, Business Week,  .. almost everything. It is not that I don’t like reading the print edition. I love the print edition. But you know what ? There are so many reasons i read information online.”

Reasons are :

  • I am not disturbed by unnecessary print/tv ads
  • I dont have to pay for news and articles published online
  • Blogs , review sites and forums are more authentic
  • I can express my opinion 
  • and research e-books are free to download. 
  • To top it , my favorite marketing fella Seth Godin blogs .. 
  • I just dont find TV news channels good enough anymore. Most of them are biased and hyped ! 

  I guess my mom was not convinced enough. She continued to glare and shout and I continued to cringe and  squirm!

One Response to “Mama dont preach !”

  1. Mona February 20, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    And, I dont have any other means of getting information rather than net.

    Mona

Leave a Reply

